September 17, 2021

George Brett, Rod Carew among holdovers on Hall committee (ESPN)

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. — Hall of Famers George Brett, Rod Carew and Dennis Eckersley are among seven holdovers on the Hall of Fame’s 16-man modern era committee, which meets Sunday to consider nine players plus former union head Marvin Miller for election.

Former Kansas City Royals owner David Glass, former New York Mets general manager Sandy Alderson and former Elias Sports Bureau executive Steve Hirdt also are holdovers from the committee that elected Jack Morris and Alan Trammell two years ago.

Newcomers announced Monday include Hall of Famers Eddie Murray and Ozzie Smith; former Boston president of baseball operations Dave Dombrowski; former general managers Walt Jocketty, Doug Melvin and Terry Ryan; and media members Bill Center, Jack O’Connell and Tracy Ringolsby.

This year’s ballot includes newly added Dwight Evans, Thurman Munson and Lou Whitaker along with holdovers Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker and Ted Simmons.

The modern era committee considers candidates from 1970-87, and a candidate needs at least 75% of the vote to be elected. Anyone picked will be inducted to the Hall on July 26 along with candidates elected by the Baseball…

Click here to read the whole article at ESPN